Skip to page body Home About The County Government Departments Services How Do I...
Washington County

Established: October 17, 1828
Area: 957.4 square miles

Washington County is in the northwest corner of Arkansas in the Ozark Mountains. It was established on October 17, 1828, formed from Lovely County, which was part of Indian Territory. Washington County has grown from small settlements of farms, mills, and orchards into one of the most affluent and prosperous counties in the state.

View original act  to create washington county
(Courtesy of Special Collections Division, University of Arkansas Libraries)


As set forth in Act 742 of 1977, Arkansas county government is divided into three departments: legislative (Quorum Court), executive (Court Judge) and judicial (County Court). Elected county officials include Justices of the Peace, County Collector, County Assessor, County Clerk, Sheriff, County Coroner, County Surveyor and County Treasurer.

Legislative (Quorum Court):

All legislative powers of the various county governments are vested in the Quorum Court. The Quorum Court consists of 13 elected Justices of the Peace, each elected for a term of two years.

Those services which the Quorum Court must provide under Arkansas law include the administration of justice through the courts, law enforcement protection, real and personal property tax administration and the keeping of court and public records. Other services which the Quorum Court may provide include agricultural services, community and rural development services, county planning, parks, libraries, museums, civic center, public camping grounds, emergency services, fire protection, juvenile services, pollution control, public health, solid waste and recycling services, transportation, water, sewer and other utility services.

Executive Branch:

The County Judge is the chief executive officer of the county and presides over the Quorum Court. He/She  does not have a vote, but does have the power to veto.

Judicial Branch:

 Washington County is part of the 19th Judicial District. Elected positions in the Judicial Department include two Circuit Court Judges (one civil judge, one criminal judge), two Chancery Court judges, one Circuit Clerk, one Chancery Clerk and a Prosecuting Attorney.

Historic Washington County Interactive Map

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Download Acrobat Reader Download Flash Player Download QuickTime Download Windows Media Player Download Microsoft Silverlight Download Word Viewer Download Excel Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer AutoCAD
Last updated: 10/20/2010 10:43:12 AM